Portage Ceramic AWARDS 2018

Entries are now open for the Portage Ceramic Awards 2018. Established in 2001 and administered by Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery with support from The Trusts Community Foundation, The Portage Ceramic Awards is Aotearoa's best-known barometer for developments in the field of ceramics.

All Portage 18 finalists will be exhibited at Te Uru in the Portage Ceramic Awards exhibition, which runs from 9 November 2018 - February 2019. Winners will be announced at the Portage Ceramic Awards event on Thursday 8 November, when the exhibition and publication are launched. 

Enter online | Download a paper entry form | Terms and conditions


Entries close on 6 August 2018
Finalists announced 27 October 2018
Awards evening on 8 November 2018
Exhibition at Te Uru from 9 November 2018 – February 2019


The premier Portage Ceramic Award carries a prize of $15,000. Up to three merit awards totaling $3000 are also on offer, along with a People's Choice award of $1000.

The overall winner winner and up to three merit award winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held at Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery in Titirangi, West Auckland on 8 November 2018.

The Selection Process

The selection of works for the 2018 Portage Ceramic Awards is a two-stage process. Up to 60 works will be selected by the judge from submitted images. Those artists will be invited to send their works to Te Uru for the final selection where the judge will view and select the exhibiting works and award winners.

For the latest updates and ongoing Portage news, keep an eye on this page via www.teuru.org.nz/portage or the Portage Ceramic Awards Facebook page. You can view previous Portage Ceramic Awards exhibitions and results in our archive section.

Image: Mel Ford, Roll: 10,560

Enter online | Download a paper entry form

Enquiries: 09 817 8087 or portage@teuru.org.nz